Heartbroken

Griffin and I were in the Tim Horton’s drive thru the other day when he asked me a very profound question:

“Mommy, when I get bigger, is my heart going to break?”

Yikes.

Ever since my Grandfather passed away this past year, Griffin has had lots of questions and concerns surrounding death, cemeteries and people with white hair (seriously).  Since I knew he was speaking literally about his heart “breaking”, I thought very carefully and explained how hearts get old and some get sick, and then sometimes, they just stop working.

I was proud of myself for the answer I gave.  I tried really hard to explain things to him in a way he understands without freaking him out.  I turned around and asked him what he thought, and he told me:

“I think I’m allergic to yellow snow.”

Yeah.

Deep Thoughts, by Griffin Larade

I love comments...hook me up!!

