Milestone Mondays

OK, just pretend that it’s Monday.  We’ve had a rough week, and frankly, I’m just happy that we’re all still standing.

The plague ripped through our house this week in the form of a vicious cold that wiped out 3/4 of our human population.  Poor little Jace and I suffered the worst, and Griffin had it a bit.  We had to call in Grandparent back-up on the weekend, that’s how bad it was.  It was an all-out no sleep, head-imploding, cough-til-you-barf, I-don’t-know-what-day-it-is cold, and it was brutal.

But last night, a miracle happened.  After about a week of the aforementioned symptoms, all four of us slept; all night, and in our own beds.   As Ken so eloquently put it this morning:

“the aliens came and took their test baby back.”

It’s true.  We didn’t know WHO the baby was that spent the past week at our house, but it wasn’t Jace.  Our Jace is a smiley, happy boy (who is about to turn 1 in 9 days…), but the baby who was living with us was a screaming, barfing mess who would. not. sleep. 

Having a child who is sick has got to be one of the most challenging parts of parenthood, especially when you’re not feeling well yourself.  There were tears (mine) and bad words (mine).  I nominated myself for ‘Parent of the Year’ when Griffin came up to me and asked:

“Mommy, what do you mean by ‘what the eff is wrong with this kid?'”

Anyway, it’s over.  We woke up to happy, smiley kids this morning.  I’m still feeling under the weather, but little people tend to bouce back quicker anyway.

So here’s the rundown for Milestone Monday:

– Registered Griff for grade Primary (sniff)

– Jace is walking with his walker AND grocery cart (his fave)

– Griff no longer stays and gives me big hugs when I drop him off at preschool, he just runs right in and barely even says goodbye (sniff)

– Jace has expanded his vocabulary to include “Mama, Dada, uh oh, and Thank you” (so polite)

Anyway, I guess that’s it for now.  I’ll post again tomorrow with some new pics of the kiddies.  Happy Monday Wednesday!

One thought on “Milestone Mondays

  1. It’s okay Lyndsay, three weeks ago when I told the kids that Poppy (my Dad) would love to be here right now watching Avery play hockey on TV (hockey day in Canada), Jude said “he would just scream at the TV momma and say holy eff ref, my granddaugther did too score a goal, open your eyes”…bahahah..nice!

I love comments...hook me up!!

