Bunny Ear Butts and Hot Crossed Buns

"I wouldn't do this for just anyone..."

Something is wrong when it’s the 1-year old who co-operates with the bunny ears on Easter weekend…

"Mommy, take a picture of me with the ears on my butt!"

If the word “butt” is mentioned in our house once a day, it is mentioned one hundred times a day.  It’s gotten so bad that we’ve had to implement a “bathroom talk” policy where “bathroom” words are only spoken in the bathroom.  So if I tell Griff to cool it on the toilet talk, he will run to the bathroom and spew a slew of profanities that only 4-year olds can appreciate.  Jace follows him in and laughs his little butt off.  How does he know that’s funny????  Boys.

Easter weekend saw us polish off a batch of homemade hot-crossed buns from Nana.  Jace loved them (well, he loved the icing…)

Delicious!

Easter morning was exciting for the boys.  Well, I can only assume that Jace had fun watching Griff look for plastic eggs full of yummy candy.  We made a conscious decision to go easy on the candy this year, knowing that it would also be coming in from grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  We slyly tried to give Griff a little pre-Easter heads up that the Easter Bunny doesn’t always bring a lot of candy, that sometimes he brings other fun things etc…  He reassured us that this was OK.  I think his exact words were “that’s alright Mommy, I’m fine with toys and money.”  Smart kid.

Regardless of our decision not to buy a lot of candy, we still managed to accumulate a ridiculous amount of candy.  There is a bowl on the counter that looks like the cornucopia from The Hunger Games (and it’s just as deadly too).

I’m always happy when Easter is over, because for me, that’s the official start of Spring.  I know it’s already Spring, but it sure hasn’t felt like it.  I hope this weekend marks the end of the snow and the beginning of the sun.  Next up… Mother’s Day!

If you haven’t already heard about the Mother’s Day project I am working on, be sure to check it out.  There is less than 2 weeks left to contribute to the project.  I really want to hear your stories about what makes your relationship with your son(s) so special.  I’ll be compiling all of our writings into one document, just in time for Mother’s Day!

For all the deets on this project, check out this section of the blog.  I can’t wait to hear from you!!

 

4 thoughts on “Bunny Ear Butts and Hot Crossed Buns

  1. I have the bathroom talk rule too.. it has slightly backfired as now they play in there so they can say poopy bum all afternoon 🙂

I love comments...hook me up!!

