The Bucket List

1. BUCKET LIST  
 
– A list of things to do before you die.  Comes from the term “kicked the bucket”.

I stumbled upon a website recently that allows users to upload their “bucket list” online for the world to see.  You can then check off the items you’ve complete and everyone applauds you for being so awesome.

So of course I decided I wanted to make my own.  And it was hard!

I started thinking about what my “list” was like B.C (before children) and what it would look like now.  I’m not as daring as I used to be, and I have never had any interest in jumping out of a plane or anything, so I was worried that my list would be boring.

But then I realized that my  life has already been pretty exciting!  I have already done a lot of cool stuff.  I’ve climbed an extinct volcano, zip-lined through the rainforest Diego-style, hugged giant sequoias and community-hopped in the Arctic.  I’ve backpacked through Europe, drank beer on the Danube, and mailed a postcard from the Vatican.  Sound exciting?  Oh it was… all of it.  But things are a bit different now. It’s not quite as easy for me to drop everything and look for adventure, so I’ve had to get creative.

My bucket list is way cooler now than it ever would have been before.  I’ve included goals that are achievable, and that focus more on accomplishing personal goals, like conquering a fear and advancing professionally.  I had a lot of fun making this list and I think it really reflects who I am today.

In the professional world, I would call this a “living document,” meaning it can and will be changed and updated constantly.  I would love to encourage everyone to do this exercise with themselves and see where it takes you.  Some of the things I wrote even surprised me a little bit!  Check back in a few months to see if I’ve crossed anything off…

See my list here.

What’s on your bucket list?  I want to know!  Leave me a comment below with 3 of the things on your list 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. Hi there . #1… Grow old with Michel and see our grandchildren grow up . #2… See and enjoy as many things and places that I can because I could be gone tomorrow . #3… See my children happy and secure in their lives . These things are the most important things in my life .

I love comments...hook me up!!

