Please, End the Hate

Time to get serious.

I was horrified when I heard the news this morning of a murder a few blocks away from my office.  It’s not uncommon to hear of this sort of violence around here anymore, but this one was different.  This crime targeted a gay man, because he was gay.

This is where I get really angry.  See, I thought we were over this.  I thought we were finally becoming a civilised society that accepted each other regardless of our race, gender or sexual orientation.  I thought we were better than this.  I guess I was wrong.  I’m embarrassed and frustrated, and this morning I felt as though I had gone back in time 20 years.  We have a long way to go.

This man had a family.  He was an advocate for equal rights.  He was a person.  He did not deserve to die at the hands of another person; nobody deserves this.  These types of crimes are unacceptable, disgusting and cannot happen anymore.

I want to live in a world where everyone is treated equally.  But I’m not naive enough to believe this will happen in my lifetime.  But maybe it will happen in my children’s lifetime.  And it starts with us; their parents.  We can be the change.

Don’t think one person can make a difference?  I will make a difference.  I will teach my children not to hate.  I will teach them there is only one race – the human race.  My hope for them is that they will view all people the way I view them – as people.  My children will not sit down or look the other way when someone is hurting, because I will teach them not to.

It’s time to show the LGBT community some support.  Don’t think this affects you? Think again. They are our children, our parents, our co-workers, our friends.  Let’s break down the barriers and accept people for who they are. Because we all want the same thing, don’t we?  Don’t we all want to feel accepted, acknowledged, and loved?

So why aren’t we doing that?  What are we scared of?

It’s time to make a change.  I’m doing it.  Will you do it too?  Reach out and support your friends when they need you.  Advocate to end violence, to end hate.  And teach your children to do the same.  The gift of love is the greatest gift you can give your child.

Hate has to end somewhere, and it can end when you teach your children to love.

Please share this post with your friends to start ending the hate.

Lyndsay

9 thoughts on “Please, End the Hate

  1. Well said your parents obviouly, as I know, raised you well and you will continue to raise your boys to be all they can be!!

  2. Couldn’t have said it better – we need to take responsibility as parents and raise our children to be better people than we are in order to make any change. I want “A” to not fear what he doesn’t understand, but learn about it and be empathic to it; to realize that being generous and helpful makes you feel more powerful than bullying; and that violence against anyone, or anything becuase you don’t agree with it is never an option or a solution. I hope we can accomplish this and these boys/girls will be our future leaders ladies… it gives me hope!

I love comments...hook me up!!

