The First 5 Minutes

You know that moment at the end of the day when you come home from work, you’ve got the kids, you walk through the door to your house, and you immediately step into another dimension?  Here’s what ours sounds like five minutes before my head pops off…

(you may want to take your blood pressure medication before reading this…)

“Take your shoes off!”

“No, put them in the closet, don’t leave them there…”

“What’s for supper?”

“Is that cat puke?”

“Meow”

“What’s for supper?”

“WAHHHHHHH!”

“Why’s Jace crying?”

“I stepped in something…”

“Meow!”

“What’s that smell?”

“No, seriously, what’s for supper?”

“Did you take the garbage out this morning??”

“I’m HUNGRY!”

“MEOW!!”

“Did anyone feed the cats?”

“Where’s Jace?”

“WAHHHHHHHHH!!!”

“I’m starving…

“Quick, give Jace something to eat!”

“I want something too!!”

“There’s no cat food”

“WHAT?!”

“Sh*t, I left the milk out on the counter this morning…..”

“MEEEEOWWWWW!!!”

“WHAT is that on my shirt?”

“Do we even HAVE anything for supper?”

“Seriously, what’s that smell??”

“Can I have a popsicle for supper?”

“WAHHH…COOKIE!!”

…and 5 minutes later…

the cats are eating an old can of tuna I found in the cupboard, Jace is eating an Arrowroot cookie, Griffin is eating a popsicle, and we are eating nothing.

And the next day we do it all over again.  Luckily, we only have to do it five days a week 🙂

Does this sound like your house? How do you make dinner time easier in your house??

4 thoughts on “The First 5 Minutes

  1. “Slow cooker”…………….. worth considering!!!!!
    (PS – you crack me up. Partly because you’re funny and a fabulous writer, and partly because it never ceases to amaze me how similar our ‘moments’ are….)

    • We have a lovely slow cooker collecting dust in one of the cupboards. The only problem is that we are gone from 7am until 5:30pm…everything I’ve tried just turns to mush 😦 What to do????

I love comments...hook me up!!

