Where Do All The Lonely Socks Go?

(…Sung to the tune of Celine Dion’s “Where Do All the Lonely Hearts Go?”)

Sorry about that, really I am 🙂

Anyway, I was in a crafty mood yesterday, and I remembered this idea that has been floating around in my head for awhile.  I probably saw something similar on Pinterest, that’s where most of my ideas come from these days.  Although I am proud to say that I came up with the catchy slogan on my own.  It has backfired a bit, since that song has been playing constantly in my head now for two days – ugh. 

So yeah, a quick stop in at the Dollarama on my lunch break for wooden clothes pins and some new twine, and voila!  A graveyard clothesline for our sock singletons.  Total project cost – $2.

We have MAJOR single sock issues in our house…this is actually only about half of the homeless socks.  A clothesline any longer just wouldn’t have looked right though, so our sock collection will have to be displayed on rotation.  The idea is that if/when a match to one of these socks magically turns up, the mate can be removed from the clothesline and they can be happily reunited in our sock drawers.

I placed the clothesline in our hallway, so we have to walk by it every day as a reminder.  I’m sure the mates to these poor socks will turn up eventually, right?  Griffin thought it was an awesome idea.  He’s been scouring the house and car for the socks’ “lost buddies,” kind of a mini scavenger hunt.  Ken doesn’t even ask me what I’m doing anywhere, he just smiles and walks the other way.

Oh, the yellow frame is a Dollarama frame I already had.  I popped the glass out and spray painted it yellow (my new favorite color).  I put in a piece of white foam-core board where the photo would go, and wrote my awesome slogan on it.  It’s stuck on the wall with that blue sticky-tack stuff, so I can take it off whenever I want (no holes – yay!)

Another view:

What do you think?  I wonder how long this “system” will last?

Now, the big question is…what will I do with the GIANT bag of wooden clothespins of which I am now the proud owner?  I’m sure there are multitudes of crafts out there for these bad boys.  I guess I know what I’ll be researching this afternoon 🙂

If you have any ideas for clothes pin crafts, send them my way.  Remember, these are dollar store puppies, they won’t work for anything crazy like actually hanging wet clothes or anything!

Have a great day!  Do something crafty with your kids tonight!

 

Click it!  You know you want to!

 

4 thoughts on “Where Do All The Lonely Socks Go?

  1. Pingback: Miffens and Glubs: March 1st, 2015 | 5 Down

  2. Pingback: Craft Time! Clothes Pins – 3 Ways | Welcome to the TESTOSTER-ZONE!

I love comments...hook me up!!

