Uh Oh….

I have strange eating habits.

I watch Auction Hunters.

I tell dirty jokes.

I drive around the neighbourhood every second Sunday evening, scanning for “treasures.”

I believe ANYTHING can be sold.

I see beauty in junk.

I lose sleep over coming up with new business ideas.

I get angry when someone invents something I’ve already invented in my head.

I like to tell stories.

Do you know what this means??

It means I’m turning into my father.  Not my mother…my father.  I’ve seen it coming for a couple of years now.  My Mom reminds me of it all the time, and then Ken noticed it awhile back, so it must be true.

And I’m totally fine with it 🙂

You see, my Dad is a unique guy, as was his father before him.  And I love them both, so it can’t possibly be a bad thing, right?  My father is generous, confident, and kind…all things I strive to be.  Why would you want to be like everyone else anyway?  I’ll take all the weird personality traits if it means I’ll be like my Dad when I grow up.

Dad has taught me that I’m no better than anyone else, and no one else is better than me.  He taught me that girls can do anything boys can do.  He taught me strong work ethics, how to be a good friend and how to laugh at myself.  Dad taught me that it’s good to be different.  He taught me that I can do anything.

I’m not completely like my father though.  And thank goodness for that! There are many ways in which we differ…

I do not buy a new BBQ or lawn mower every year.  I like to buy new clothes once in awhile.  I don’t need to eat dinner precisely at 5pm every day.  I’m not bald.  I don’t feel as though I need to wash my car every day.  I don’t wait until the last possibly moment to buy Christmas/Mother’s Day/birthday presents.  I know how to use a computer.  I do believe you can have too many sheds.

My DNA

My father is one part Red Green, one part Mike Holmes, and two parts MacGyver.  This always works in my favor (and I think I can speak on behalf of my brother as well), when I can call Dad any time and say “Dad, I need a” and he has it.  Every time.  And, on the off chance he doesn’t have it, he can make it.  Cool huh?!  Dad is very special to me and I don’t think he’ll ever really know how much I still look up to him 🙂

This weekend is Father’s Day.  And even though I love my Dad every day, Father’s Day is the day that gives me an excuse to tell him how I feel about him and buy him some sort of ridiculous gift.  It’s a day that reminds me to keep an eye on him as he gets older so I can see what’s in store for me when I grow up 🙂

So happy Father’s Day to all the awesome Dads out there, especially mine.  You guys are important you know!  Sometimes, when I feel as though I am flailing on a lonely island of estrogen in a sea of testosterone, I remember how lucky I am to be surrounded by great men.  My father, my husband, my father-in-law, my brother, my brother-in-law, my uncles and my children.  If I have to live in the Testoster-Zone, I’m glad I ended up with this crew!

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads!  Go BBQ something and drink beer.

9 thoughts on “Uh Oh….

  1. Pingback: Things My Dad Has Taught Me – a Top 10 List | Welcome to the TESTOSTER-ZONE!

  2. Well said Lyndsay, I love reading your posts. Enjoy every moment with that special Dad of yours, he is one of a kind. lol

  3. Love love love – sitting here at my desk with freaking tears in my eyes. I too am lucky to have him as my uncle 🙂

I love comments...hook me up!!

