Photographing Your Own Children

It’s challenging, but it’s not impossible!

Photographing your own children takes a lot of patience and a whole arsenal of tricks, (bribery anyone?) but trust me, it can be done.

I spend a lot of time photographing other peoples’ children and just as much time trying to photograph my own.  I know that trying to take great photos of your own kids can sometimes seem completely impossible.  Do you know why?

To put it simply, kids just don’t listen to their own parents (you’re shocked right now, I can tell).  Trying to snap some photos for your annual holiday cards or for the album doesn’t have to be frustrating experience that ends in tears (for you or for your kids!)  Here’s where I can help.

Over the last four years, I’ve spent a ton of time learning what works and what doesn’t when it comes to photographing children; my own and other children of all ages.  I have TONS of tips and tricks on how to get those great shots that you and your family will love.

For example, one of my best tips is to put your child in his or her “element.”  You know, the one thing they totally love.  This works across the board, regardless of age.

For this picture of Griffin,  we took some time together to set up a Lego police village, complete with little green army men in our dining room (he LOVES this stuff).  By taking the time to set this up together, he was relaxed and happy, and crazy proud to pose with them.  I moved quickly and took advantage of the thirty second window he gave me to snap away.  I kept talking to him the whole time, just to keep him distracted enough not to realize that I was totally manipulating him into some sweet smiles 🙂

How to photograph children is one of the topics I am asked about constantly.  And because I love photographing kids and because I love to talk about it so much, I actually decided to create a workshop on the topic, offered at my studio this summer – yay, my first workshop!  If this is something you may be interested in and you live in the Halifax area, make sure to check out the details on my Facebook page.  I would love to have you join me 🙂

Having awesome photos of your kids is so important (and I know you went out and bought an awesome camera right after they were born!) so let me teach you how to get some awesome shots!

For more information or to register for this workshop, or any other workshop, please email me at info@lyndsaydoyle.ca.

Happy snapping!

One thought on “Photographing Your Own Children

  1. Pingback: Get Snapping! Your Friendly Reminder to Take More Photos of Your Kids | Welcome to the TESTOSTER-ZONE!

I love comments...hook me up!!

