Family Rocks! (Thinking Outside Your Own Brain…)

Network, network, network.  Research, research, research.  Learn, learn, learn.  It’s Business 101.  Keep the brain moving, go online, talk to people, come up with new ideas – ARGHHHH!  It can be exhausting.

Whatever field you’re in, I’m convinced you can only go so far on your own.  You start to feel stuck, caught in a loop of uninspiring, recycled ideas that used to work, but now they’re old and tired.  You’ve come so far and then BOOM!  Brick wall.

What do you do when you’re out of ideas?

***

A great thing happened to me this weekend.  I had an unexpected visit here in the studio from three of my Dad’s sisters (he has six!  And five brothers too!)  They live in PEI, so I don’t see them very often, but when I do, I’m always blown away by their talent and passion.  These ladies are nothing short of inspiring.

Christine is a baker, Mary Theresa is a photographer and Marlene is a poet and painter.  What great stock I come from!

What started as an impromptu photo session quickly turned into a brainstorming session unofficially titled “how to get Lyndsay through the loooooong winter season as a photographer.”  And boy, they did not disappoint!

These ladies unleashed a flurry of fabulous ideas for Holiday-themed photo sessions, birthday parties, weddings, and everything in between.  When they left almost an hour later, my head was spinning with amazing new ideas.

The moral of the story?  Think outside your own head.  Talk to the people who are right in front of you!  Often, this is your own family or your closest friends, so start networking with them too!  We don’t give our own families enough credit when we should be relying on them for honest opinions and feedback.  They know us best and can be a HUGE asset to our businesses.

I loved our visit.  It was like hitting a “refresh” button for me – thank you.  And I hope you like your photos!

Bring it on, Winter, I’m ready for you 🙂

 

 

5 thoughts on “Family Rocks! (Thinking Outside Your Own Brain…)

  1. I really enjoyed seeing your studio . Thanks for the great pictures and good luck in your ventures. Creativity is ingrained in you and it will show through in your work. nurture it and it will grow!

  2. I love these Lyndsay, we had so much fun and now great memories. Lots of ideas floated around, I hope you can work with them somehow in the future!

  3. I love it Lyndsay . Thanks for putting up with our antics as we are always on for some laughter. You are right when it comes to new ideas . Sometimes it just takes a few comments about an idea and that can inspire you to go for bigger and better ideas. We will keep out thinking caps on for you.

I love comments...hook me up!!

