Snow Days and Sick Days – How We’ve Been Passing The Time

We’ve had a few lately, snow days and sick days that is.

Winter was treating us nicely in the beginning, we made it through the first few weeks relatively unscathed by colds, flus, snow and snot.  But, as with everything else in life, nothing lasts forever.  Enter the nastiness.  Snow that won’t go away, runny noses that won’t go away, and school cancellations that seem to be just beginning.  It’s the black hole of winter some people refer to as February.

It’s so hard for me to embrace our winters here in NS because a typical winter cycle goes kind of like this:

Snow, rain, freeze, melt, catch a cold, repeat.  Snow, rain, freeze, melt, catch a cold, repeat.

Ugh.

I’ve been trying hard to find reasons to love winter with it’s seemingly endless sick days and snow days.  Because I’m Canadian, I’m told I’m supposed to like this weather, so I’m trying to find some positive things about staying in with my babies on stormy, snotty days when playing outside isn’t an option.

I’ve been able to come up with a couple (better than none, right?):

1.  More time for the kids to spend together.  When they’re not fighting over a Happy Meal toy, they like each other, I swear.  And I get to teach them important things, like how to wash the dishes.  Still to learn: cleaning toilets and doing laundry.

photo30

Griffin discovering that Jace is just the right height to be an armrest. By the look on his face, you’d think he just discovered electricity 🙂

2.  Sick kids sit still longer.  If you have kids under the age of ten, you know what a relief it can be just to have them sit still for more than 30 seconds.  Having feverish kids equates to more snuggle time on the couch.  It also equals more TV time – oops!   Oh well.

photo31

Jace

“I am SO snuggly when I’m not feeling good. Enjoy it while it lasts, Mommy, I’ll be over it in less than 24 hours!”

Jace’s shows of choice?  Bubble Guppies, Octonauts, and Backyardigans.  Goody!

Did I say more TV time?  I also meant more iPad time and more video game time.  Oops again!  (And oh,well again :))

photo28

By the way, what you’ve just witnessed in the above photo (my kids sitting together, quietly) is a miracle.  Up until last weekend, I would have been less surprised to see a pink leprechaun riding a double-headed unicorn outside the living room window.  Having colds has obviously affected their decision making skills.

The best part of all this winter complaining I’ve been doing, is that I’ve discovered that I’m actually a very good indoor winter person.  I’m really on the ball these days.  The house is a bit cleaner, some little projects are being finished and we’ve been extra crafty lately, Griffin and I.

Here’s what we came up with yesterday:

IMG_0226

Paper army men to add to his collection.  I flip flop between thinking they are awesome and thinking that we need to get out of the house more 🙂

Yeah, I think they’re awesome 🙂

Another one of our favorite indoor winter activities?  Baking, of course.  I’m happy to report that I’ve graduated from cake mixes and pre-made cookie dough to 3-ingredient shortbread cookies.  Even I can’t screw those up, and my toughest critic is happy to help with quality control.

photo27

“Don’t tell anyone that Mommy lets me eat raw cookie dough!”

If all else fails, and you can’t find anything to do, just do what we do, and have a nap…

photo29

Happy Tuesday, hope everyone is feeling well.  We’re all better – for now 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Snow Days and Sick Days – How We’ve Been Passing The Time

I love comments...hook me up!!

