What’s New? Weekly Update With Crappy iPhone Pics

If this week was a sign of what the summer weeks will be bringing, I’m going to have to buy a LOT more wine because it’s going to get rough.  What started out as a cold, rainy week escalated quickly to an almost unbearably hot one, that culminated in Sunday night meltdowns of epic proportions.

Let’s start at the beginning.

Griffin took his turn at being Student of the Week at his school.  On Monday morning, he was supposed to bring in a poster all about himself, bring in a special book to read…all that good stuff.  So on Monday morning, as we were leaving the house, he decided to tell me about it.  That’s when I found the crumpled up notice at the bottom of his backpack (along with a cookie that had been there for a very, very long time) with all the details.  Well sh*t.

So Monday night was a scramble to pull something together.  He did a great job, I only helped a bit.  Here it is as a work in progress:

photo5

And the final product.  It looked great before he got his hands on a hole punch, but I think the added holes on the side take it to a whole new level…

photo6

This week, we said hello to our new family pet.  It’s a snail.  Apparently there were two in here, but one “turned to dust.”  This lucky guy survived.  His name is “Griffin Hotdog.”

photo2

And then it got hot.  Really hot.  And you know it’s hot when the pets sleep like this:

photo9

Poor things with their fur coats.  At least the june bugs are keeping them busy in the evenings 🙂

The boys deal with the heat by eating Freezies and ice cream sandwiches all day.  Confession: that’s what I do too.

photo8

And if that doesn’t work, just act like a dude and strip down to your underpants.

photo3

Confession: this is not what I do.

So by the time the week was over and the mercury was hitting over 30 degrees, the boys were a mess.  The heat, the running around, the not-sleeping-because-it’s-too-hot, and perhaps a few too many Freezies resulted in two little puddles of children last night.  Apologies to anyone who saw us wrangling two hot messes into the van at the soccer field last night 🙂  Let’s just say that last night was a order-take-out-and-drink-beer-after-the-kids-went-to-bed kind of night.  Glad it’s over.

And I made a promise to Griffin that today after school, we would do nothing.  Nothing.  We are going to sit on the couch and watch cartoons and not run around all afternoon.  Because that is an awesome way to spend a rainy Monday afternoon.  So if anyone is looking for me today, I’ll be on my butt, watching Pokemon, not in my underwear.

Happy Monday!

**************************

PS. Did anyone notice what I posted on my FB page yesterday?  I’m very, very, very excited to be hosting some exciting things here on the blog this summer that involve fellow mom-preneurs.  I can’t divulge the juicy details just yet, but if YOU are a fellow mom-preneur, you may want to get in touch with me to get involved.  Just sayin’  🙂

 

I love comments...hook me up!!

